Local Networks

What is a Local Youth in Care Network (Local)?

Locals are groups run by partnerships between youth and adult allies. They are designed to support youth in and from care ages 14-24. A local follows the Fed’s mission and Values Code. Local youth leaders are supported by host agencies and Fed staff who can help the group to establish a budget, create an annual plan and follow the Values Code. Each local is unique to the community that builds it. Some are fun activity-based, while others focus more on life skills, and some are a combination of both. Youth shape the local to best meet their needs. Locals also help the Fed provide a provincial voice for youth in and from care.  

Our Approach

The Fed strives to help communities create a safe space for youth in and from care to come together, build connections, identify challenges, and feel at home.

Mission of a Local

To create an environment for youth 14-24 to come together for support so they don’t feel alone in their experiences. Locals should give young people an opportunity to meet new people, do fun activities, develop skills, and unite their voices to create change in the systems that affect them.

To learn more about locals, contact Jeff, Local Development Coordinator at jeff.oneill@fbcyicn.ca

Why get involved with a Local?

Youth

  • Meet people with similar lived experiences and support each other
  • Have fun with peers in and from care
  • Help create a safe and fun space
  • Unite their voices to create change in the system
  • Build a group that meets the needs of youth in and from care in the community
  • Help youth-serving organizations learn how to better work with youth in and from care

Adult Allies

  • Access to funding up to $4,000 a year
  • Ability to use the Federation name and logo
  • Work and build relationships with other Locals across BC
  • Build and share knowledge of existing community resources throughout the province
  • Promote Local’s activities through the Federation’s website, e-newsletter, social media, and Power Pages
  • Help create a safe and fun space for youth in and from care
  • Better understand how to work with youth in and from care

Current Locals

Surrey
Host Agency: Options Community Services
9815 140 St, Surrey, BC V3T 4M4
Contact: Priya Singh at priya.singh@options.bc.ca

Campbell River
Host Agency: Sasamans Society
680 Head Start Crescent, Campbell River, BC V9H 1P9
Contact: Monica White at monicaw@sasamans.ca

Parksville
Host Agency: District 69 Family Resource Association
PO Box 965, 198 Morrison Ave Parksville, BC V9P 2H1
Contact: Charlotte White at 250-954-7835

Victoria
Host Agency: Youth Empowerment Society
533 Yates St. Victoria, BC V8W 1K7
Contact: Maria Ebenal at yicn.vyes@gmail.com

Prince George
Host Agency: Prince George Native Friendship Centre
Contact: Roland Gurney at (250) 564-3568

Kamloops
Host Agency: Interior Community Services
765 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, BC V2B 3J3
Contact: Renata Saat at rsaat@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca, Kristina Splane at ksplane@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca, or Carrie Davis at cdavis@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca

Kelowna
Host Agency: The Bridge Youth & Family Services
#8-2604 Enterprise Way, Kelowna, BC V1X 7Y5
Contact: Danielle Venne at Danielle.Venne@thebridgeservices.ca

North Shore
Host Agency: North Shore Neighbourhood House
225 East 2nd Street, North Vancouver, BC V7L 1C4
Contact: Christopher Zupanec at czupanec@nsnh.bc.ca or 604-868-7065

Abbotsford
Host Agency: Archway Community Services, Foundry Abbotsford
2420 Montrose Ave., Abbotsford, BC V2S 3S9
Contact: Nicole Clarke at 604-217-1428 or Nicole.Clarke@foundryabbotsford.ca

Pemberton
Host Agency: Sea to Sky Community Services
1357 Aster Street, Box 656 Pemberton, BC V0N 2L0
Contact: Crystal Tonkin at 604-894-6101 or crystal.tonkin@sscs.ca

Maple Ridge
Host Agency: PLEA Ridge Meadows Youth Services
#200-22420 Dewdney Trunk Road, Maple Ridge, BC V2X 3J5
Contact: Rolfe Hilger at 236-688-4983 or rhilger@plea.bc.ca

Courtenay
Host Agency: Comox Valley Family Services Association
1415 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, BC V9N 2K6
Contact: Elena Geneau at elena.g@cvfsa.org or 250-218-5363

Castlegar
Host Agency: ARC Programs Ltd.
625 Columbia Ave., Castlegar, BC V1N 1G9
Contact: Joyce Johnson at 778-460-5174 or JJohnson@arcprograms.com