Local Networks

What is a Local Youth in Care Network (Local)?

Locals are groups run by partnerships between youth and adult allies. They are designed to support youth in and from care ages 14-24. A Local follows the Fed’s mission and Values Code. Local youth leaders are supported by host agencies and Fed staff who can help the group to establish a budget, create an annual plan and follow the Values Code. Each Local is unique to the community that builds it. Some are fun activity-based, while others focus more on life skills, and some are a combination of both. Youth shape the Local to best meet their needs. Locals also help the Fed provide a provincial voice for youth in and from care.  

Our Approach

The Fed strives to help communities create a safe space for youth in and from care to come together, build connections, identify challenges, and feel at home.

Mission of a Local

To create an environment for youth in and from care to come together for support so they don’t feel alone in their experiences. Locals give young people an opportunity to meet new people, do fun activities, develop skills, and unite their voices to create change in the systems that affect them.

To learn more about Locals, contact Shannon Dolton - Team Lead and Program Coordinator at shannon.dolton@fbcyicn.ca

Why get involved with a Local?

Youth

  • Meet people with similar lived experiences and support each other
  • Have fun with peers in and from care
  • Help create a safe and fun space
  • Unite their voices to create change in the system
  • Build a group that meets the needs of youth in and from care in the community
  • Help youth-serving organizations learn how to better work with youth in and from care

Adult Allies

  • Access to funding up to $4,000 a year
  • Ability to use the Federation name and logo
  • Work and build relationships with other Locals across BC
  • Build and share knowledge of existing community resources throughout the province
  • Promote Local’s activities through the Federation’s website, e-newsletter, social media, and Power Pages
  • Help create a safe and fun space for youth in and from care
  • Better understand how to work with youth in and from care

Current Locals

Abbotsford
Host Agency: Archway Community Services, Foundry Abbotsford
2420 Montrose Ave., Abbotsford, BC V2S 3S9
Contact: Tiera Murray - Tiera.Murray@foundryabbotsford.ca or 778-809-4410

Campbell River
Host Agency: Sasamans Society
680 Head Start Crescent, Campbell River, BC V9H 1P9
Contact: Monica Glendale at monicag@sasamans.ca or 250 914 2212
 
Cariboo
Host Agency: Foundry Williams Lake
51 4th Ave S, Williams Lake, BC V2G 1J6
Contact:abitha Fournier - tfournier@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca or 250 320 4603

Castlegar 
Host Agency: ARC Programs Ltd. 
625 Columbia Avenue, Castlegar, BC V1N 1G9 
Contact: Jane Wesko at JWesko@arcprograms.com or 250 608 7674 and Emma Cuell at ECuell@arcprograms.com 

Courtenay 
Host Agency: Comox Valley Family Services Association
1415 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, BC V9N 2K6
Contact: Katharina H - katharina.h@cvfsa.org
 

Kamloops
Host Agency: Interior Community Services
765 Tranquille Road, Kamloops, BC V2B 3J3
Contact: Krista Sherwood at KSherwood@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca or 250-819-5819 or Renata Saat at rsaat@interiorcommunityservices.bc.ca

Maple Ridge 
Host Agency: PLEA Ridge Meadows Youth Services 
#200-22420 Dewdney Trunk Road, Maple Ridge, BC V2X 3J5 
Contact: Rolfe Hilger at  rhilger@plea.bc.ca or 236-688-4983 

Parksville 
Host Agency: Sources Community Resource Centre 
PO Box 965, 198 Morrison Ave Parksville, BC V9P 2H1 
Contact: Brittany Palmer at bpalmer@sourcesbc.ca or 250-954-9359 

Port Alberni 
Host Agency:  ADAPS Youth and Family Services 
4260 10th ave, Port Alberni, V9Y 4X3 
Contact: Stacy Neary at stacy@adaps.org or 778-419-4445   

Prince George 
Host Agency: Prince George Native Friendship Centre 
Contact: Natalia Todosia at ntodosia@pgnfc.com 

Squamish 
Host Agency: Sea to Sky Community Services 
38034 4th Avenue, Squamish, BC V8B 0A7 
Contact: Alyssa McGinnis at alyssa.mcginnis@sscs.ca or Heather Lightfoot at heather.lightfoot@sscs.ca

Surrey 
Host Agency: Options Community Services 
9815 140 St, Surrey, BC V3T 4M4 

Tri Cities
Host Agency: PLEA Community Services
Port Coquitlam, BC
Contact: Udee Wijeratne at uwijeratne@plea.bc.ca or 604-417-9240